Brief background of J&K State Sports Council

The J&K State Sports registered under the Societies Registration Act IV of S. 1998 came into existence in 1959 with its Governing body viz. J&K State Sports Council constituted vide Govt Order No.: 390 of 1959 dt: 10-08-1959 with a strength of 22 as founder members. The Council had its first meeting on 5th Nov 1959 at the residence of the then Prime Minister of J&K Late Bakhshi Ghulam Mohammad at Srinagar in his capacity as first President of J&K State Sports Council & Sh. Harbans Singh, the then Education Minister as Vice-President of the J&K State Sports Council to consider the drafting of the constitution. The above Sports Council functioned from 1959 to 1963. The constitution of the Council was approved on 27th June 1960. Thereafter the Sports Council was re-constituted from time to time with the Hon’ble Chief Minister/His Excellency the Governor or Advisor Incharge Education as President & Hon’ble Sports Minister/Worthy Chief Secretary or Commissioner/Secretary Education as Vice President. Other Members are also nominated by the Govt as per provisions of the constitution.

The Secretary, Joint Secretary & Treasurer are elected amongst the nominated members for a period of 4 years term to run day to day affairs of the Council. The strength of Sports Council members was raised from 23 to 25 in september 1992. Consequent upon the revision of the constitution on 23rd April 2001, the no. of members was increased from 23 to 29 with a provision of 2 provincial Joint Secretaries.

The Organisation is headed by Hon’ble Chief Minister & Hon’ble Sports Minister as its President & Vice-President respectively. The members of the Sports Council are nominating by the Govt after every four years. The Secretary, Joint Secretaries & Treasurer are elected amongst nominated members for a period of four years term. The Sports Council has its Administrative set-up functioning at State, Divisional & District level with a sanctioned staff strength of 430 posts.


Website Designed, Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre, Jammu & Kashmir
Content Provided and Maintained by J&K State Sports Council, Government of Jammu & Kashmir.